Scavenger Hunt

This week has gone by so fast because of all the activities and trips around town. Things also move slower here so when we are supposed to start at a certain time it usually ends up being 15-30 mins late. Lots of waiting and chatting with people.

On Tuesday the CIEE (my exchange program) directors split us into groups of 4 or so and sent us out into different districts of Istanbul with directions of what to look for. We all met for dinner on the Asian side of Istanbul at the end of the day.

Here are some pictures of my day:

image

We traveled from Koç (Coach-A) to Beşiktaş (B) to Kadiköy (C)

P1050909

The McDonalds in Beşiktaş (Beshiktash) All c’s and s’s with little things on the bottom have the ch and sh sound.

P1050911

Faraz, Me, Leah, and Bethany with an Eagle Statue in Beşiktaş shopping district. I think it was to commemorate 100 years of the neighborhood being around or something.

P1050912

A view of the street in Beşiktaş.

P1050913

This reminded me of Pike Place Market in Seattle! Though they don’t use much ice to keep the fish cold. They just throw cold water on the fish every few minutes.

P1050914

Leah, Bethany and Faraz

P1050916

My delicious lunch! This is called Manti (Turkish ravioli). Here is recipe for it as well: Recipe

P1050918

Faraz and Bethany

P1050920

Leah and I

P1050921

Some cats at a mosque playing in the cemetery.  There are cats everywhere here! My first night on campus there was a dog that hung out in the dorm lobby all night.  The students seem to feed them and make sure that they are ok.

P1050922

We crossed the Bosphorus to Asian Istanbul. Our second destination was Kadiköy.

P1050923

One of the ferrys

P1050924

Though you can’t tell, the view behind us was fantastic!!

P1050932

This is the bull statue in Kadiköy. The bull is the Fenerbache (one of Istanbul’s soccer clubs) symbol.

P1050933

A cool little artsy side street we found.

P1050934

A mosque in Kadiköy

P1050939

They had carmel ice cream which made me extremely happy!

P1050941

My major sweet tooth is going to be happy here. There are pastry shops everywhere!!

P1050942

The streets are filled with clothing shops. The main street seemed to be mostly women’s clothing and the side streets carry men’s. Anyone for some man legs??

P1050943

Open air market

P1050946

Bethany at dinner. All the groups were sent to different parts of the city and had to meet for dinner at 6pm in Kadiköy. We went to a restaurant called Çiya (Chia) where they are famous for incorporating foods from all over Turkey into their menu. We shared family style dishes, so I got to try everything!

P1050947

This is a stuffed dried eggplant. It is filled with rice, meat and spices.

P1050948

Everyone at dinner. There was SOOO much food. The bread here is one of my favorite things. It is soft and tastes delicious. I have yet to see sandwich style bread served anywhere.

P1050950

This was by far my favorite dish. I asked what it is and was told that it is just a beef stew. Man, not that interesting for how good it tastes.

P1050951

A rice dish

P1050952

I think this has okra in it. I haven’t had okra before, but it is pretty tasty in different dishes.

P1050953

We only drink bottled water here. (I know, stab me in the heart!!!) But, I found some water coolers at school where I can refill my 1.5 liter bottles to keep them in my room. This is the water served in most of the restaurants. Please notice that they inform you that no coliform or fecal streptococcus bacteria are present. Awesome!


This was by far my favorite day this week because I got to see so much of the city. Any questions?? I miss you all!

2 thoughts on “Scavenger Hunt

  1. Great photos Audrey! I’m love reading all of these exciting details about your program and Istanbul! It is really helpful to know about your experience while I am talking to other students interested in going to Turkey. Do you mind if I share the link to your blog with potential students?

Leave a Reply

